Woman Gives Her 12-Day Old Baby to Stranger in Corpus Christi
Over the weekend in Corpus Christi, Claudia Canales was driving down Commanche Street and noticed a woman walking holding a baby. As reported by KRIS-TV in Corpus Canales thought the woman looked lost and confused, so she pulled her car up to the woman. It was at that point, the woman asked her to take the 12-day old baby with her and she did!
Canales then called the police! When they arrived they questioned both, Canales and the woman with the baby. Officers eventually took the baby and arrested the mother on child endangerment charges. She might have avoided arrest had she given up her baby lawfully through the Texas Child Safe Haven Act also known as the Baby Moses Law. Read the full story by clicking here.
WHAT IS THE BABY MOSES LAW:
If you leave your unharmed infant at a Safe Haven, you will not be prosecuted for abandonment or neglect. If you leave your baby at a fire or EMS station, your baby may be taken to a hospital to receive any medical attention they need.
- Your baby must be 60 days old or younger and unharmed and safe.
- You may take your baby to any hospital, fire station, or emergency medical services (EMS) station in Texas.
- You need to give your baby to an employee who works at one of these safe places and tell this person that you want to leave your baby at a Safe Haven.
- You may be asked by an employee for family or medical history to make sure that your baby receives the care they need.
KEEP LOOKING: See what 50 company logos looked like then and now